October 29, 2012 – Homeward Bound #trainspotting#Chicago

Good evening. On the, gentrified, 4:30PM out of the City and feeling very special.

Ok. Before we head into tonight’s observations, a disclaimer and an apology.

First, I’m sorry I did not post on Friday evening, October 26th. I was in transit with my cousin, the Radiologist. He uses public transportation exclusively and we got into talking about all things family, politics, economics, etc.

Now the disclaimer – I will endeavor to post twice a day, but I reserve the right to NOT spew forth hyperbole, assumption, outright fiction, and pop-culture esoterica if I am indisposed or tech decides to malfunction. I also reserve the right to express perspectives that may make you uncomfortable, though that is never the intent of this blog. Accidental uncomfortablness may occur should I get close to a raw nerve. I ask for your indulgence, your imagination and your perspective. Let me know when or if I get too close to a line.

With that in mind, this car seems disproportionately white this evening. If you were wondering, non-white folks notice these things, even today. The car is near-full and, up until the train left the station, I was one of two ethnic people in the whole car.

To put this in perspective, one side of a car, my visual frame of reference, holds about 75 people. The car is 90% full, or roughly 68 people. There are four non-white people in this car: the handsome African-American gentleman sitting across from me in the jump seat; my fellow Indo-American Jawaharlal Nehru looking friend about five sears back; and a Philippine woman who, like me, immediately noticed the demographic.

Now, this doesn’t bother me really, but it pays to be mindful of one’s surroundings in this day and age. Nehru-Bhai put his ski cap over his head and eyes and decided to take a nap, curled up against his window. Philippine-gal, after an initial survey, is reading her People Magazine, yawning and looking around lazily. The African American gentleman has finished with his iCrackerdroid and getting in some sleep.

As for the majority, there are some notable faces in the crowd. The ‘tech-geek’ from the “Oceans” movies, the network engineer (I forgot the character’s name) is bearded and sitting two seats back. Behind him and against the window sits a younger Henry Fonda from “12 Angry Men”. Next to Mr. Fonda sits Mike Royko’s Slats Grobnick, sucking down a beer and reading a newspaper left on the seat.

Oh my. Our Philippine friend has been watching me type aggressively on my iCrackerDroid (now with an Ice Cream Sandwich) and is wondering what I’m banging on about. I wonder if this is how Jane Goodall felt when she was first noticed by the population she was sent to observe?

Lots of bald men on the train. At least I qualify there!

Well, my daily pedantic voyeurism is at an end, mostly because my tech is starting to die out. Stay dry, East Coast fans (all two of you). Don’t let Sandy bring you down. Tonight, I’m in a New York state of mind.

Stay safe and enjoy your evening, everybody.

2 thoughts on “October 29, 2012 – Homeward Bound #trainspotting#Chicago

  1. Andrea Miklasz

    As a fellow blogger (and a resident veteran), don’t ever feel the need to apologize for either your absence or, conversely, an overabundance of online musings. You don’t owe anyone an explanation. You’re delightful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

