November 21, 2012 – Thanksgiving Eve – Homeward Bound – #trainspotting#Chicago

image

Good evening. On the 4:45PM out of the City. The NFI is 3.

If my plans had gone my way, I would have been stopping for an early dinner,  gas up and FB location check in on my way to a full spread indo-American veg/non-veg Thanksgiving extravaganza in a gaited community somewhere near Tony Soprano’s old house. I, and I alone, decided after much consternation and input, to stay back an be nuclear-family this Thanksgiving. The impending deadlines and multiple meetings on the following Monday may have moved the motivation to be immobile. Maybe. I disliked the choices that I was presented. Ultimately, I chose the right one and, as much as I love my extended family, I like my wife and kids most of all.

Anyway, a giant is sitting across the aisle. Six-foot-ten-inches and 295- pounds of Grizzly Addams is reducing the usual violent sway of the train, which occurs for the first ten minutes of the ride out of the City due to lack of investment into upgrading commuter rail systems, more tolerable.. Our Beard Bearer friend is providing the necessary ballast to keep the train steady on the centerline of the raised embankment that it travels. Had this wonderful (emphasis on full) fellow been on my side of the train car and along the window, I fear that Newtonian Physics would takeover, causing much chaos and consternation, to say the least (which I avoid doing if I can help it).

There is a fellow that looks like an Organian, sitting on an upper deck seat. The Sci-Fi enthusiasts among us should remember it was the Organians, during Star Trek the Original Series (TOS) that brokered the first cease fire between the Klingon Empire and the Federation, threatening house their big big brains to cause much trouble for both parties – much like what Sec. Clinton did just today between Israel and Hamas. This fellow has a frontal lobe that easily doubles as a brim during sunny baseball games. He is currently using is iFlameNebulaArea to write his thoughts about Kirk, Spock, McCoy and their ilk.

The fellow sitting in front of me looks a lot like Timothy Geithner, the current Secretary of the Treasury. I know it cannot be Geithner because a) SecTreas runs the Secret Service and would have a MIB style detail all over him and b) this handsome fellow is reading a paper on cell biology, printed from the online version of the journal called (duh) ‘Cell’.

Also to be mentioned are Gen. Colin Powell and Dave Matthews of 90’s and Aughts bus tour-crap dumping fame. Look it up.

Happy Thanksgiving. Safe Travels. Consider taking a train instead of driving.
Peace.

Leave a Reply

