April 1, 2013 – Homeward Bound – #trainspotting#Chicago

image

Good afternoon. On the, tethering, 5:00PM out of the City. The NFI is at least two. This is the popular kids’ train. I am stepping in other peoples’ territory. How’s THAT for plurality! (See what I did there?)

Do you remember the “Green Mile”? The warden? He’s sitting four seats back. He’s greyed nicely. He looks haughty … holier than thou, if you will. Nothing really to talk about except there’s a fella there that looks like the Warden. Put the actor, and his doppleganger, on the list of “Oh, that guy!” in your list of recognizables.

Mace Windu just sat down. The serious Jedi just lifted the chatty couple out of the seat that he wanted with his serious demeanor and a little bit of the Force. They are, thankfully, less noisy in their chattiness about unsuccessful April Fools memes on Facebook. He has put up a Force bubble around his seat, but has allowed in an unsuspecting official from the Trade Federation to sit next to him. They don’t call him a Jedi Master for nuthin’.

There are a number of Desi’s on board – call it 25% of the ridership in this car. I should feel very secure in this environment, but I don’t. I was never quite comfortable being First Generation American, or as my fellow native Indian brethren like to dub me “ABCD” (American Born Confused Desi).

I say this because one of the Desi’s in question is the husband of a friend of my wife. He also knows my father well – mostly on a business relationship. Within the Andhra Desi community in the area, and nationally, he is a player – someone who wants to be noticed. He is the politician to my technocrat. Anyway, he hasn’t seen me in forever. I was 10lbs heavier and not charcoal bearded. The Irish hat and being two seats away helps. Also, we have diametrically opposite personalities. In this case, opposites do not attract. He hasn’t aged well. I look fabulous. Perhaps my cultural bias is showing? Nah. I just don’t like the guy.

Also here are Terri Gross of WHYY, Bill Buckner of MLB, Yuri Andropov of KGB, Candice Olsen of HGTV, and Jimmy Carl Black of the original MOI. Nobody is armed. Happy Monday.

4 thoughts on “April 1, 2013 – Homeward Bound – #trainspotting#Chicago

      1. annamoscova

        Da, “stress” is killer . His death made way for most honorable Comrade Gorbachev to be
        Top Dog. The rest is history. By the way , have you seen Boris? Yours truly, Natasha

Leave a Reply

