June 21, 2013 – Inbound – #trainspotting#Chicago

image

Good Morning. On the, family friendly, 9:30AM into the City. Cattle car run. I have brought my sons with me into the City. We will first go to my Office, where I have some quick tasks to perform. Then we will take advantage of the sights and sounds of the big City.

The children have requested that we take the Water Taxi up the River and then head to the Zoo. After a few hours of monkey business there, we’ll take the bus back down to the Downtown area, where I have a cousin who loves in a High-Rise. We will take in the view and freshen up for a few minutes before walking back to the main station to come home. Rush Hour will be interesting.

Evidently there is a baseball game scheduled for today. The suburban fans are populating the train and are already opening packaged cans of cheap beer in anticipation of the contest. Everyone is wearing their “colors”, identifying themselves to their favorite team. Not all the colors are for the home team, according these traitors with looks of suspicion and outright disdain.

The train is also populated by families. Much like me, many fathers and mothers are taking this Friday to do an outing with their children. Many adults are thrilled to have the opportunity for a mini-stay-cation. Other adults are obviously not comfortable with the interruption of routine, contemplating schedules, deadlines and memos while children ask questions about tickets and “are we there yet.” It really is a window into how we think as a society….

….no, not now, son, I’m blogging about how much fun we’re having. Will you please sit down!? We’ll get there when WE GET THERE! That woman is not wearing her underwear out in public! Stop fighting you two! Iwillthrowyouoffthistrainright……

(Breathe)…

I really have to go. Lots to do. I’m sure there are plenty of dopplegangers that I am not particularly interested in, because I am much more interested in my children. Rest assured that me and my sons are safe, because all of the passengers in this car are armed.

Happy Friday. Safe Travels.

Leave a Reply

