Monday, October 21, 2013 – Inbound – #trainspotting#Chicago

image

Good morning. On the 8:19AM late express into the City.

I just came back from my 20th College Reunion. It was, for me, exhilarating and restorative, to see those who could make it and remember those who couldn’t.

It seems many of my classmates read this blog and have provided me with some insight and suggestions non their likes and dislikes. I will try and incorporate their suggestion into my style.

Anyway, enough about my silliness. I was lucky enough to be the first one in board the train this morning; lucky because I get to watch the fellow commuters walk by and negotiate themselves into their desired seating. So, picture a group of very blank looking people avoiding direct eye contact walking through the train to get to the fist car and find a seat.

Well it was like this until an older woman, in her late sixties or early seventies was in the mix. I may have seen her before. She looks like Ellyn Burnstyn or a healthier Carol Channing. She moves at half the speed of everyone else. Deliberate, perhaps even because of great pain, though her face did not show signs of discomfort. She sat in front of me in the jump seat; facing the direction of travel. She’s working on the crosswords from the daily newspaper. She looks regal! She is the most content person in the car.

There is another woman some four seats back, seated aisle side. She reminds me of a smaller version of Anjelica Huston’s Morticia Adams. Very serious look on her face, roman-like angled sharp nose. She is working on her iBlazeNebula, contemplating the inputs he just made. She bites her bottom right lip nervously. Is she filling out a job application? Match.com profile? Candy Crush? I can’t tell from here.

(Match.com and the makers of Candy Crush have not endorsed this blog, though if they wish to, I am happy to mention their products anytime after the first check clears).

Also here are Michiku Kako, the Dalai Lama, Graham Nash, Jon Faverau, and Flo from Mel’s Diner. All are armed.

KC & EOS – thanks for helping me birth this blog.
She’s one year old today!

Happy Monday. Safe Travels.

Leave a Reply

