Friday, November 8, 2013 – Homeward Bound – #trainspotting#Chicago

image

image

Good evening. On the cattle run 6:22PM out of the City. This is my late train. It hits every stop on the line.

I was awash with fatherly pride this morning after talking to my children’s teachers at their school and did not post about my ride into the City. This evening, I attended a monthly meetup, after-work event. I had coffee, though I was surrounded by some excellent booze. It smelled inviting, but I stuck to my promise. Y’see, for the last few days I’ve been having a beer on the way home. I also had a few at an after-work business meetup yesterday. The beer gets to the gut rather quickly.

So today, against my usual temperament, and as a promise to the missus, I stuck with coffee. I also walked to-and-from the train station to the restaurant/bar for the meetup. Two miles. There’s some hope for gut circumference management.

Well, enough about me. Three lawyers are chatting in the next jump seat across the aisle. The Veronica Mars looking young newbie attorney is chatting about work with her associate, a seasoned veteran who reminds me of Anne Bancroft (in her later years). The third, silent partner is a big, bald, beer gutted man who would be perfect doing pro-bono appearances at an orphanage as Santa Claus. Veronica does family/divorce law. Child custody. Psyche profiling of parties. That sort of thing.

Behind Veronica, seated by himself, is a seasoned veteran of the Civil War, travelling home on leave from the front lines of Manassas or Gettysburg. Unlike his contemporaries, whose beards are more like Edward Stanton (Lincoln’s Secretary of War) impressive whiskers, our corporal has a beard more like General Lee, either due to personal taste or the limitations of heredity.

In any case, our traveler is in white shirt, no tie, navy blue pants, jacket folded over a small valise or suitcase. He seemed to have purchased something at a store as he walked about the City.

Also here are Stanley McCristol, Burgess Meridith, a pensive looking Reince Pribus, and a cast member from Mean Girls. All are armed.

Happy Friday. Safe travels.
To my friends who have served or continue to serve, a blessed Veterans Day to you and thank you for your service to our Country.

Leave a Reply

