Tuesday, February 11, 2014 – Inbound – trainspottingChicago

image

image

image

Good morning.

On the freshly frozen 7:35AM into the City. The NFI is 2.

I did not post yesterday. I stayed home. Sure, I could have gone to to work, but at an ambient temperature nearing -30°F between the skyscraper-walled wind tunnels that make up the streets of Downtown, I decided that I could be more productive at home. I helped my wife prepare the children for school, made them breakfast, and got to my work routine in the comfort of my basement office.

Well, enough about me. There is a fellow seated five seats back who looks exactly like Craig T. Nelson’s Coach. His receded hairline has brown-auburn islands of straight hair on either side of his head. He puts on reading glasses and tends to the scores, statistics, over under and predictions for today’s Olympic games in Sochi. He has money on the American women’s ice hockey team to beat the Canadians. He also has a side bet that there will be a fight on the ice. He licks his lips, thinking about his future winnings.

Looking up top, a fellow who reminds me of an present day aged Greg Louganis is sitting reading a book (an actual book! with paper!) and contemplating the Games as well. He looks up from the Star Trek novel and thinks about the “after the games” scenario. The pressure will be off for Russia to make any substantial changes to the public stance on homosexuality. The gangs of (state sanctioned?) protesters against homosexuals will flourish with gusto. He wonders if there is a mechanism through the IOC and UN Human Rights Watch to get “out” athletes from other games to start a movement, a media blitz, to pressure Russia for social change – a Gay Glastnost? His eyes come back into focus. He goes back to his novel.

Also here are Forrest Whitaker, Jarrett who lost weight, an Observer from Fringe, Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart, and Mary-Louise Parker. All are armed.

I want to reach out to 1/364.25 of the world’s population today, wishing my fellow Aquarians a happy, safe, and fruitful birthday.

Happy Tuesday. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

