Tuesday, February 18, 2014 – Homeward Bound – trainspottingChicago

image

image

image

Good afternoon. On the enlightening 3:15PM out of the City. The NFI is 2.

Today was an interesting day. I realized that I am the embodiment of the modern adage “smart enough to be dangerous.” I realized also that technical knowledge and skill require both rigorous training as well as practice.

Y’see, I have had to take on more and more responsibility over the years working for my firm. Many of these responsibilities are operational by nature – HR, Marketing, Payroll, etc. Some are part of the services side – drafting, estimating, scheduling, designing.

There are people who train to be drafts people, carefully plunging into the minute operations and commands of designing software (AutoCAD, MicroStation, EaglePoint, etc.) There are others like myself who are more concerned about getting the information required onto the paper. I am an end-product thinker or user of the tool. I don’t have the time to master the subtleties. So far, my skills and and this mentality have served me, and the projects I manage, well.

I got called out. Nicely. But called out for not being expert; a ninja black-belt level with drafting software. I mea culpa-ed.

So it was with some embarrassment and self-realization that I stopped what I was doing and called up some expert help to take over the drafting of the project I’m currently working on.

I feel liberated and yet sad. I will get better at drafting – respect the minutae – but not now. Now, I have deadlines. I take off the drafting hat and put on the PM and estimating hat (at which I excel (heh)).

Right. Enough about me. Richard Dreyfus’ marine biologist character from Jaws is napping on the train, two seats back. He’s sitting next to an older looking Hank Azaria, who is wide awake. Hank is gray haired and mousy. These two are coworkers. Security badges for access hang from lanyards on their necks. No. Hank looks more like a less-bald David Paymer.

A blonde Molly Ringwald from Sixteen Candles is sitting way in the back. She’s flipping through an actual magazine, checking out the latest fashion tips and mentally noting all the things she didn’t know her man wanted from her in bed. She smiles, because these are the very thing she wants from her wife at home.

Also here are Eartha Kitt, a Kenyan Bobsledder, Stephanie Zimbalist, and a Corddry. All are armed.

Happy Tuesday. Safe travels

Leave a Reply

