Monday, March 24, 2014 – Inbound – trainspottingChicago

image

image

Good morning. I’m on the 7:35AM into the City. The NFI is 1.

For the six of you that keep track of this travelogue: first, thank you, and second, I wasn’t on the train for all of last week. For some of it, I was in a training session that went for three days. The exam was intense, but I just got an e-mail with confirmation that I passed and earned 18 professional development hours and further justifying my credibility within my current profession.

So, I wasn’t ignoring my responsibilities to the six of you. My absence wasn’t due to laziness.

I’m sitting in the rear quiet car. The fellow seated one seat over looks like a smaller version of Salvatore “Big Pussy” Bonpensiero from The Sopranos. Our informant is in a hooded jacket over a baby blue Polo shirt. His hair looks like a poor man’s Greg Brady afro. He is reading something, though I can’t tell if it’s a book or an iCrackerBot.

A dark haired woman is seated three seats farther back and across the aisle. She vaguely reminds me of Anne Bancroft. This woman is in a black overcoat with a reddish, salmon colored scarf peeking out from the collar.  She shows signs of fatigue with bags under her eyes and a bit of a frown. A serious woman. Come to think of it, at first glance I thought I was looking at Alan Rickman’s Severus Snape from Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone!

Lots of sleepers this morning. If I were an alien or malevolent deity that feeds off of the potential energy from a sleeping human brain, this car would be like a continental breakfast!

Also here are Jim Cramer, Buzz Aldrin, Vanessa Williams, and Whitey Ford. All are armed.

Happy Monday. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

