Monday, April 7, 2014 – Homeward Bound – trainspottingChicago

image

image

Good afternoon. On the 3:55PM out of the City.

A good day. I’m getting better at AutoCAD. I had to take printed record drawings that were dated 1983 and create an architectural “base file” that others will use to generate their work. It cost me much of a weekend. My children were not happy with me. My wife was very annoyed with me. But, both know that what I do sometimes comes home with me. Thankfully, I am not working with infectious diseases anymore.

I am closer to closing out a number of projects all at the same time. This means (hopefully) I will have more time to take off work  and perhaps seek out new work. My current job is important and challenging, but I’ve reached the ceiling with my current firm. I need new challenges and new opportunities to advance, both economically and professionally. It’s time. Hard to do when there’s work to do and there is a family to feed and house. Easier when the workload eases up.

Enough about my silliness.

Jake Gyllenhall is asleep in the jump seat across the aisle. He’s got his headphones on. Grey slacks and a crumpled off-white button down shirt. The jacket is a nondescript black padded number with the rivet-buttons that consistently trigger the scanners at the TSA. I get nervous when he’s aboard. As I remember, one of his rides on the train out of the City was turned into an action movie – Speed Train or something. Not good for my constitution.

A more-hairy J.K. Simmons is here. The younger, red-headed fellow is asleep. Prior to sleeping, he was on his iCrackerBot, talking to his coworker about deadlines and production quotas as if he was the gear that is keeping the machine moving. But, after he hung up, I got the distinct impression that he barely understood what was coming out of his mouth. He fell asleep thinking about that conversation. I hope he finds the answers to his own, persistent questions.

Also here are a young Val Kilmer, the Russian Charge d’Affairs for the Midwest, Reese Witherspoon, and Bald Chintee Flea. All are armed.

Happy Monday. Safe Travels.

Leave a Reply

