Tuesday, April 8, 2014 – Inbound – trainspottingChicago

image

Good morning.

I’m on the 7:20AM into the City. This is the train I should be going more often. It gets into the City earlier and gets me working longer. Also, the people here are different.

But, the reason why I needed to catch this train today is important. I have a design project that takes me to the heart of County Government. The building that houses the County seat also houses the City Hall. I may have previously talked about my excitement when I got a chance to look at 100+ year old construction documents about this building. Well, now I am going on the roof. I have to inspect the mechanical spaces (called “chases”) at the top of the current County Seat building. The view of the City from there will probably be breathtaking.

Anyway, back to the different people. There is a fellow who is about seven feet tall. He’s got scruffy, graying brown hair tied back into a short ponytail. He’s got a red and black plaid scarf wrapped around his neck, which I imagine is thin with a protruding Adam’s apple. His fingers look more like large talons. He is wearing a long black coat that goes almost to his ankles. The amount of cloth required to make the coat is becoming a mathematical exercise! He looks like Bjorn Borg. He’s reading a yellowed mid-eighties paperback copy of CS Lewis’ Perelandria. I haven’t read it, but now I must pick up a copy at a used bookstore.

The very big, Precious looking young lady is here. If you recall, she was on the train a few weeks back. She has an inordinate amount of makeup on. Well, she also has a bit if an attitude. This being the quiet car, she’s got the Beyonce blasting through the earbuds where, when the conductor passed by, he had to double back to ask her to turn the music down. Her response, while looking out the window as he spoke, was “I did.” Hmph. Maybe I’m getting too old.

Also here are Marlin Perkins, Alicia Silverstone, Ron Silver, and Mean Joe Green. All are armed.

Leave a Reply

