May 27, 2014 – Inbound – trainspottingChicago

Good morning.
On the 7:35AM into the City.

I hope your Memorial Day weekend was pleasant, reverential, and contemplative. I spent most of my time with my children and gave my wife some time to do things she’s been leaving on the back burner.

I look forward to getting back to work. I need the regularity sometimes. I’ve got deadlines that I hope to meet before Thursday so I can get down to the important task of cleaning up old files and general office management.

Well enough about my Dunder-Mifflin -esque dreams.

There are two older men – one in his mid-fifties, the other in his seventies – sitting in front of me, one seat over. They are speaking Portuguese or Catalan or some language vaguely Mediterranean. Both have ruddy, tanned completions. The older man is rather animated in his conversation. Nobody has the heart to let these two strangers in on the fact that this is the Quiet Car.

The younger man reminds me of Anthony Quinn. The elder is wearing an orange baseball cap with the badge that reads “The Answer to Life’s Problems” around the oval in block letters and “BEER” stitched in beautiful red cursive lettering in the center. The greatness of this cap is not the badge, however. The left edge of the brim of the baseball cap has a bottle opener built in. Pure genius. The elder looks like Bob Hoskins.

With a smile, I looked at the sign above me and smiled. They look up above my head and smiled back, ending their conversation.

Don Rickles is here, sharing the jump seat with me. His real name is on his badge in full view. Don is a key member of a multinational corporation. His utility belt is armed with his key card on a retractable lanyard, his leather pouch for his company issued communications device. His bag/attaché is black Dacron with the professional association with which he is a proud member. Don is imbibing the daily news on an eNewspaper with his eReader device. A bit of Uncle Fester with this fellow.

Also here are Elon Musk, Dwight D. Eisenhower, a Mouseketeer, and Tom Beringer. All are armed.

Happy Tuesday. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

