Wednesday, June 11, 2014 – Inbound – trainspottingChicago

image

Good morning.

On the 7:55AM into the City.

I am running late. I needed the sleep. My mother in law needed some help. Yesterday, she boarded a train to see family in Ann Arbor, MI. The train was scheduled (and left) Union Station at exactly 7:00AM. It was raining yesterday. I couldn’t guarantee making her boarding call if I drove into the City. So instead, we took the very earliest express on the schedule. This means that I had to be up at 4:30AM to look respectable for the day. I got to work an hour earlier than I usually do, but I left an hour later than I usually do. In short, I slept in today. I feel bad about it, because I don’t like to be late.

Well (yawn), enough about my somnambulism sob stories.

I am sitting in the fourth car from the front. I felt like I needed a change of venue. I also felt like I didn’t want to be part of the morning scrum. Sleep deprived crankiness, perhaps.

There is a fellow who sounds like an extra from “The Office” chatting about how he took a late train last night back from the City because he hung out with some buddies at Clay’s Crabby Cantina, a popular spot in the City. He openly says he was dragging pretty hard this morning due to the shots at the end of the night. I can’t see him or his office buddy.

There is an overall damp stench in this car. A mix of sweat, coffee, rain, colognes of various brands and remnants of shampoos. Its not… bad… necessarily. Just… awkward? Unexpected? These blog posts have been usually about what I see. Today, I thought to test my other senses.

Somebody’s specialty ringtone is a wolf-whistle. The very dark, petite woman just answered her phone and started speaking Tamil.

A disembodied voice from the upstairs deck is chattering away in Spanish with a decidedly Rosie Perez – Puerto Rican lilt and tone.

There are three people in the car wearing shirts of different styles but the same shade or hue of red.

Also here are Kristin Wiig, Angela Merkel, Rush Limbaugh, and Merv Griffin. All are armed.

Happy Wednesday. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

