Thursday, June 19, 2014 – Homeward Bound – trainspottingChicago

image

image

Good evening.

On the 6:14PM out of the City.

You may have noticed I haven’t been posting as much as I used to on this blog. It is partially by design. The lack of new content is, in part, that I am working on a new project.

Just last evening, my dear friend Cameron Marceau, patron and master of the Black Liver Project and emcee of the podcast Monsters In A Glass (http://blackliver.ning.com) helped me set up a new site called the Imagination Club (www.ImaginationClub.net). Now if you go there now, you won’t see much, cause we haven’t added content yet. The site will be the repository for all things Science Education that I can collect, share and use. It will also be the informational site for clinics, tutoring resources, and a list of my consulting services as a freelance science educator. I plan to evolve this site and services over the course of eighteen months to a point where I can teach inquiring minds full time and engage children K-12 in understanding the beauty of science and art and music on an individual basis.

To that end, I’ve been a bit distracted. Sure, I notice things on the train home. For example, the two Indian gentlemen in the jump seat across the aisle started talking World Cup and ended up talking Indian politics. The more talkative fellow looks like a bearded Desi version of Jonah Hill, and seems to be discussing issues about him and his brother (money issues) with the other more silent polite fellow across from him. The polite fellow looks like Casey Casem with a mullettish wedge hairdo, has smokers teeth, and is sporting the awkward “How do I get the hell out of this conversation” smile. I am familiar with this smile only because my wife has to give me a special signal telling me that my listener is sporting that smile.

While I plan the new blog and demonstrations and reading syllabi, I can’t help but notice the Tonya Harding look alike sitting in front of me one seat over, tuning out the previous conversation with her iCrackerBot and visions of excruciating orthopedic surgeries visited upon both Jonah Hillsingh and his estranged debt-ridden brother.

Also here are Nicolas Tesla, Rosalind Franklin, Niels Bohr, and Rene Descartes. All are armed.

Happy Thursday to you.
Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

