Monday, July 21, 2014 – Homeward Bound – #trainspottingChicago

image

Good afternoon.
On the 3:18PM out of the City.

A couple of threads going on today. A slow day.
I have to let staff go at the end of the week. Not fun for anybody.

I’m listening to DeLaSoul is Dead while I write this and I travel home. I am currently in the middle of a huge Frank Zappa binge. I just finished Uncle Meat last night. However, due to a computer reconstruction project, I have not had the opportunity to “rip” my CD’s so I can share the Zappa collection to my iCrackerBot. My DeLaSoul complete discography is on my iCrackerBot, and I might as well listen to genius hip-hop instead of the genius-genius of FZ.

I’m noticing the musical “hooks” that FZ used repeatedly during the late 60’s-early 70’s, iterations of the Mothers of Invention. For example, a hook in the melody of What is the Ugliest Part of Your Body from Absolutely Free is easily identified in the Dog Breath Variations from Uncle Meat. Now, unless you were a Zappaphile, this bit of my brain dump doesn’t matter to you and you have since stopped reading. Go with Frank, with my vegetable blessings.

See, the very geeky, blonde, young, spikey-haired, cargo shorted, plaid short sleeved, hot-spot enabled Alan Cummings looking fellow sitting in the seat in the jumpseat (across from me) looks like a Zappaphile and would understand the musical thread linking Absolutely Free, Lumpy Gravy and Uncle Meat. For the other Zappaphiles still reading this, I am betting you folks are thinking “Hey, TC, what happened to Freak Out, yo?”. I KNOW! Alan Cummings would react the same way if I told him I did NOT start my Zappa journey with Freak Out from 1967(?), going straight to Absolutely Free and (rightly so) Lumpy Gravy. If you were wondering? – outstanding albums! Musical, cacophonous, genius.

Anyway, Alan has a WIFI connected to micro-USB to his iPaperTab device, poking at it with the finger skills of a concert pianist.

Oh, yeah. I may need to find new work soon. For everyone’s sake.

Also here are Donna Shelayla, Studs Terkel, Rosemary Clooney, a tall and handsome Seth Rogan, and Barney Rubble. All are armed.

Happy Monday. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

