Monday, August 25, 2014 – Inbound – trainspottingChicago

image

image

Good morning.

On the 7:58AM into the City. A crowded train. I was late today because I forgot to account for new construction along the usual route to the station. Twenty five minutes in traffic to go five miles.
I will be taking an alternate route tomorrow.

On the way to the station, I noticed a bus stalled on the side of the road. It was a local bus that takes commuters to the train station. There was no way I was going to catch the train I wanted, so I pulled over behind the stalled bus, opened the door and yelled “Hey! I can fit six people! I’m going to the station!” Three Desi IT professionals sat uncomfortably in the couch seat in back. A pregnant Samoan or Filipino woman and a heaver set Desi man sat in the two bucket seats. A middle aged woman who reminds me of a redheaded Sally Kellerman with short hair sat next to me in the front passenger seat. They were very nice. Not very funny though.

Evidently, people have forgotten how to engage in idle chitchat. We have become so busy and so wrapped up in our electronic lives that we have lost the skill of personal interaction.

The Desi IT guys were the most engaging, immediately thinking I was one of them, which I guess I am. The pregnant woman was the most engaging, in part because she felt safer in the air conditioned van versus the humid and hot sidewalk waiting for the bus. I got a more professional vibe from Sally Kellerman. She was cordial, but also wondering if she should tip me for my trouble. She didn’t tip me. But she did smile at me when I sat down in the jump seat of the front quiet car, as she is sitting two seats over. That was nice.

Its SRO here in the front Quiet Car. A gentleman who looks like Akira Kurosawa is watching a movie while standing up, using his iNotepad. The young, Jessica Chastain looking  woman behind him glanced over at his screen. Showing no sign of revulsion, I presume Kurosawa-san is watching something tame. Had he been on the Kyoto-Tokyo Express, Ms. Chastain’s reaction may have been quite different.

There are two men, one who looks like Marlin Perkins of the Mutual of Omaha Wild Kingdom. The other looks like Richard Kind, but with reddish-dark orange hair. Both are chattering away, albeit quietly but audibly, as thy are looking straight at the blue Quiet Car sign. The profile face in the Quiet Car graphic is white! At least acknowledge that you are being asked to control yourself! For these to big white guys, the rules don’t apply. Nobody is telling them to shut up.

Well, that’s it for now. Also here are Anil Kapoor, Any Sang Su Chi, Jon Hamm, and Judy Baar Topinka. All are armed.

Happy Monday. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

